West Junior A Hurling Championship 2014

Gleeson Concrete West Junior A Hurling Championship 2014

Clonoulty Rossmore 4-19 Knockavilla Kickhams 1-12

Clonoulty Rossmore made it two wins from two outings in the Gleeson Concrete West Junior A hurling championship when they defeated Knockavilla Kickhams at Cashel on Saturday evening last.
Clonoulty were first off the mark with a Tommy Lyng point after four minutes but this was quickly cancelled out by Peter Comerford before Ger Farrell had the ball in the Clonoulty net for the games opening goal a minute later. Richard Horgan put them further ahead with a well taken point from out near the sideline. However the Clonoulty forwards began to make inroads into the Kickhams backline and goals by Mickey Ryan (W) and Paul Hayes together with points from Aaron Ryan (R), Tommy Lyng and Jamie Molony had them well in the driving seat after twenty minutes. Kickhams came back with three points from midfielder Niall O’Brien to cut the deficit to six at the break.

Kickhams took the game to Clonoulty after the break and struck three unanswered points from Conor Horan and Peter Comerford (2) to cut the lead to three after eleven minutes. Paul Hayes then opened Clonoulty’s second half account on twelve minutes with a well worked point and from that stage on until the final whistle they completely outscored Kickhams with points from Liam Devane, Tommy Lyng, Paul Hayse and Jamie Molony. Conor Ryan(C) struck a long range point and his ground shot goal after twenty nine minutes was the score of the game. Kickhams reply during this period was a solitary point from the hard working Peter Comerford.

Clonoulty Rossmore: David Egan, Shaun Coffey, Niall Shanahan, James Horan, James Ryan(W), Ciaran Quirke, Anthony Kearney, Liam Devane (0-1), Paddy Ryan, Jamie Molony(0-2), Aaron Ryan(R)(0-3), Ciaran Carroll, Tommy Lyng (1-7, 3f), Paul Hayes (1-3), Mickey Ryan(W) (1-2). Subs used: Conor Ryan (C) (1-1) for Ciaran Carroll, Enda Heffernan for David Egan.

Kickhams: Thomas Ryan, Davy Horgan, Aidan Heaney, Gareth Ryan, Conor Horan (0-1), Gerry Horgan, Brian Horgan, Niall O’Brien (0-3), Noel O’Brien, Liam Croke, Dan Breen (0-1), Peter Comerford (0-4,2f), Damien Hayes, Ger Farrell (1-1), Richard Horgan (0-2). Subs used: Pa O’Brien for Liam Croke, Stephen Griffin for Davy Horgan, Paudie Carroll for Conor Horan, Alan Horgan for Noel O’Brien.