St Mullerins Tournament Final

Senior Hurling St Mullerins Tournament

Our Seniors won their first trophy of 2014 by beating Cloughbawn of Wexford in the final of St Mullerins Tournament in Carrick on Suir last Friday evening.
Clonoulty got off to a flyer with 3 points in the opening 3 minutes, 2 from Timmy Hammersley and 1 from Fiachra O’ Keeffe. Cloughbawn then created their first chance when they received a 21yrd free where they found the net. The next 10mins saw both sides trading scores before Clonoulty dominated the rest of the half scoring 10pts to Cloughbawns 2. Clonoulty led at Halftime by 0-16 to 1-03.
The second half saw Cloughbawn rally getting their second goal of the day in opening 4mins to give them hope of clawing back Clonoulty’s lead. The second half was a low scoring affair with Clonoulty and Cloughbawn creating plenty of chances. Clonoulty were denied goal scoring opportunities and with wayward shots ended up with 7 wides in the second half. Equally at the other end with both defences on top and excellent saves from Jimmy Maher denying Cloughbawn the goals needed to make a come back. Cloughbawn got their 3rd goal in the 22nd minute, but 2 points late on from Man of the Match Timmy Hammersley secured the win.
Congratulations to the Senior Panel and our new management team of Michael Ferncombe, Paddy Bourke and John Heffernan on a great win.

Team: Jimmy Maher, Joey O’ Keeffe, John Devane, Kevin Horan, John O’ Keeffe, Padraig Heffernan, Ciaran Quirke, Paudi White 0-01, Sean O Connor 0-01, Aidan White 0-01, Sean Maher 0-03, Timmy Hammersley 0-10 (0-06f), Fiachra Keeffe 0-02, Thomas Butler 0-02, John O’ Neill 0-02.
Subs Used: Tom Butler