West Junior A Hurling Championship

Gleeson Concrete West Junior A Hurling Championship
Clonoulty Rossmore 4-20 Emly 2-08
Clonoulty Rossmore qualified for the 2014 West Junior A hurling championship final as a result of a comprehensive victory over Emly at Clonoulty on Sunday. Emly were first out of the traps and had a point from Owen Buckley in the first minute. Paddy Ryan equalised and Clonoulty got into their stride with points coming from Ciaran Carroll, Tommy Lyng and Mickey Ryan (W) before Paul Hayes had the games opening goal on ten minutes. Michael O’Donnell had a point for Emly before Owen Buckley added a goal after some dreadful defending by Clonoulty. However they got back into the game with some quality scores from Jamie Molony, Mikey Ryan (W) and Aaron Ryan (R). Tommy Lyng crashed home Clonouly’s second goal after twenty three minutes and this effectively finished the game as a contest as they went in at the break leading by 2-12 to 1-03.
The second half started with a Paul Hayes point in the opening minute followed by Tommy Lyng’s second goal a minute later. Joey Lonergan finished to the net after the Clonoulty defence failed to clear their lines. Clonoulty then eased up but still managed to put over some great points from all angles and a fourth goal from Aaron Ryan (R) after twenty minutes wrapped up the game as they ran out clear winners.
They are now in their second junior A final in three years and will most probably play Kickhams.
Clonoulty Rossmore: David Egan, Shaun Coffey, Andrew Quirke, Donncha Ryan (W), Enda Heffernan, Ciaran Quirke, James Ryan (W), Liam Devane, Paddy Ryan (0-2), Jamie Molony (0-2), Aaron Ryan (R) (1-2), Ciaran Carroll (0-1), Mikey Ryan (W) (0-2), Paul Hayes (1-3), Tommy Lyng (2-8, 0-3f). Subs used, Conor Ryan, Anthony Kearney.,
Emly: Ger Dawson, Donal Condon, Kieran McAuley, John Purcell, Jason McGrath, Michael Ring, Johnny Hayes, Adrian Hennessy (0-3), Eanna Quish, Liam O’Donnell, Owen Buckley (0-4, 3f), Shane Carroll, David Burns, Michael O’Donnell (1-0), Declan McInery. Subs used: James Purcell, Joey Lonergan (1-0), Patrick McGrath, Bob McInery (0-1), Chris Hennessy.
Referee. Phil Ryan, Kickhams